Oraclue

Oracle internals, debugging and undocumented features

ORA-01017 while configuring 11g data guard

When configuring data guard using DGMGRL utility

add database ‘boston’
as connect identifier is boston
maintained as physical;

I would get ORA-01017 invalid username/password error…

I realized that this is related to case sensitive passwords in 11g…

I had  sec_case_sensitive_log =false  but I copied  orapw  file from primary which was already there.

The trick is to generate orapw file wiht option  IGNORECASE=YES .Then just copy files to standby servers under $ORACLE_HOME/dbs ( every server )

I  cuould not find any note on metalink explaining this issue..  ( not as of today )

4 responses to “ORA-01017 while configuring 11g data guard

  1. chet September 22, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    You need to pass these by me before posting so I can help out with spelling errors!

  2. Tom September 23, 2008 at 3:37 am

    I think wordpress has spellcheck : )

  3. oraclue September 23, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    I am just an immigrant..( probably did not spell word immigrant correctly ):)

  4. coskan March 18, 2009 at 10:06 am

    better this way. its not your fault its fault of English. i have a dream in which people read as they write.

Leave a Reply

